What is Islam?

The Arabic word Islam literally means “surrender” or “submission”. Islam, as a faith, means total and sincere surrender to God so that one can live in peace and tranquillity. Islam is a complete way of life, implying total submission to God. One who surrenders his or her will to God, voluntarily is known as a Muslim.

Islam is not a name chosen by humans, it was divinely communicated from God.
Islam is a global faith, not of the East or the West.

Allah is an Arabic word, meaning “The One and Only True Deity”, the proper name of The One who created the heavens and the earth. For a Muslim, Allah is the greatest and most inclusive of names for God, denoting The One who is adored in worship, The One who created all that exists.

The Six Articles of Faith


In order to be considered a Muslim, one must believe the following articles of faith:

  1. Belief in God
  2. Belief in his Angels
  3. Belief in his Books
  4. Belief in His Prophets and Messengers
  5. Belief in the Day of Judgement
  6. Belief in God’s Divine Decree.

The Five Pillars of Islam

There are five obligatory acts of worship that every Muslim must dutifully carry out.

  1. The declaration of faith to Testify that there is no true deity except God and that Muhammed is His Messenger (Shahaadah)
  2. To Pray five times a day (Salah)
  3. To pay the yearly alms (Zakah)
  4. To fast during the month of Ramadan (Sawm)
  5. To make the pilgrimage to Makkah (Hajj)
whoever relieves a believer's distress of the stressful aspects of this world, Allah will rescue him from a difficulty of the difficulties of the hereafter.